Metropolitan & Great Central Railway Joint Committee Survey

Published by Norman Lucey

metropolitan railway 1907 - click stations to view survey
Published by Norman Lucey

© Copyright 2011, Norman Lucey

All rights reserved.

Page created 22 October 2011

Created by the Metropolitan & Great Central Joint Committee in 1907 for their own use, the ten hand-coloured station and crossover plans reproduced here illustrate the line from Harrow-on-the-Hill Station to Amersham and Chesham. The original survey and series of maps covered the whole route of the Joint Committee between Harrow and Verney Junction.

The scale was drawn at two chains to an inch.

Each of the original sheets show in two sections, a detailed and highly accurate one mile survey of the line with information on the land rights and details from whom it was originally purchased, including covenants and easements. They also record in considerable detail, information of the line's infrastructure, including culverts, bridges, signals, treadles, station buildings and the actual use of the rooms within. Even bridge construction, headroom and clearances are recorded. The Company's property is coloured blue, with platforms marked in yellow and station buildings in red. County and parish boundaries are also indicated.

All these stations now form part of London Underground's Metropolitan line.
  click to view:- Harrow-on-the-Hill Pinnner Northwood Rickmansworth Chorley Wood Chalfont Road Amersham Chesham Grand Junction Canal Waterside Home Top